Making Inspirations into Realities

IMG_3053

Sidewalk inspiration by Emma of Tampa, Florida.

We all love those morning mantras or Monday motivations.  Those little doses of inspiration to get our gears going into action.  Anytime of day, I say we could use some of those quotes.  Some stick with us more than others, to soon shape our whole perspective.

But how do you see those coming to be?  The mantras that give you that “aha” moment, do you really see them in your everyday life.  How do you incorporate ways to fit them in?

Lately, I’ve been in a little funk.  Not terrible, but enough to make me go, “No, you have a dream, you have a goal, so be there.”  Questions on what is my next step came up.  How can I show up? How can I be there in the most authentic way to show others what I believe?  Will I embrace the connections that have shown up themselves? More than ever I have questioned is this what I want to be doing right now.

“Just question if you still love what you once loved.” ~Danielle LaPorte

There are times the universe controls what happens, but there are times you need to make the happens in the universe.

Here are some steps to making those inspirations become your reality.

1.  Where were you three years ago, and where are you now?  Take any perspective you like.  But, don’t sugar coat it.  Do have a different job?  Different partner?  Newly Single?  Newly open?  For me, I found myself almost in the same exact place.  Same job, same house, most of same friends.  Inside, I am actually trying to get right back where I was before too.  Can you believe it?  I want the same openness.  I want the practice and commitment.

2.  How can you make it different?  Yes you can be in that same job, but are you in a different position or more goal-oriented?  Can you take living in the same place, but take random weeks to make up for the adventure?  That’s exactly what I did.  Taking a spontaneous trip, to do almost the same as what I’ve could have done home… was one of the better decisions I made in a while.  You can get out of your comfort zone and still do what comforts you!

3.  What ways will you practice?  When you look at an amazing liner, write down how you can or have made it happen. Try saying to yourself, “Fuck yea.  This is what’s gonna go down now!” I have this amazing planner that helps me with that.  Everyday I use it, to figure out what I can change or do, to make that mantra come to life.

So much easier said than done.  The funks and rough patches might seem they are coming up more often than you prefer.  But, after a while, I guarantee it’s because you are thinking more frequently of having those inspirations become a reality.

“Do stuff.  Be clenched, curious.  Not waiting for inspiration’s shove or society’s kiss on your forehead.  Attention is vitality.  It connects you with others.  It makes you eager.  Stay eager.” 

~ Susan Sontag

Leave a Reply

