Holiday Realizations

IMG_0631

Thanksgiving until New Year’s Day has always been my favorite time of the year.  Besides the cold weather, snow, and blue hands, I really enjoyed everything about it.  The Christmas decorations and lights throughout neighborhood streets and downtown.  Christmas movies and music from your house to the malls.  Not just gift exchanges, but cookies and delicious food.  I come from a strong Hispanic Culture.  Canciones de la Navidad, arroz con gondules, pastelses, y perníl, were just some of the stars.  Proud to say my favorite holiday to eat is always the night of Christmas Eve.

I haven’t done a list in a while, and if I don’t do a list for this post, it will most likely come out like a rant. I got these emotions and thoughts that need to come out! It’s a way for all of us to turn back around, start over if you will. Why wait till the New Year? Now is the best time!

IMG_0597

So here it is.  How can we get over the past year’s strifes.  How can we remember the things, more so people, that really matter?  I want to make the end of this year a little more beautiful.  And hopefully keep it going for a little while longer.

1. Spend time with others.  Seriously, I feel the best way to relieve yourself from holiday craziness and to-dos, is to actually spend time with the people.  Maybe it’s your family or maybe it’s some coworkers you have grown very fond of.  Make that extra effort.  You would be surprised at how relaxing and fun a movie night in could be.

IMG_0633

2. Eat with purposeful bliss.  Extra cookies and cocktails usually come around this time of year.  Because nothing says love like homemade cookies, and nothing says party like fancy dranks.  Enjoy it.  Going out to eat, make sure to order something delicious but practical.  I always like to keep it simple and go all out a few times a month.  You be surprised what a few simple meals can do for your mind, digestion, and waistline.  You want to feel good from the inside out

3. Get corny with it!  Dress up!  Bake those cliché cookies.  Blast holiday music everywhere you go.  Being corny makes me happy, sometimes because the other person can’t help but smile and laugh.  Have fun with spirited holiday.  Buy into it.  I’m not saying in a retail manner (but watch out for the sales), but in a heartfelt manner.  Put up decorations and a charlie brown Tree, even for your small family enjoy.

IMG_0650

4. Give your face a rest.  Smile more! I must say, even I have turned into a bit of grinch throughout this year.  So, first I’m trying to forgive myself and move on.  Give my customers the benefit of the doubt, breathe in indifferences with important people in my life, and in the end, smiling through it all.  I am constantly reminded, you never know what another person is going through.  So maybe that three second smile can gets somebody’s day going a little better.

This is simple and short.  I hope you read it and pinpoint where it affects your life the most.  How can you improve?  Little changes to make day’s worth while?  The goal is to keep this way of thinking all year long.  In the end, I think that’s what Christmas is for most people.  You may celebrate that Christian meaning, as do I.  Then, you can also celebrate the simple gifts and people that have came into your life all year long.

IMG_0649

Merry Christmas and Happy New Years to my very special readers!

 

Thank you,

yesenia

One comment

Leave a Reply

