Conscious Beauty: DIY Deodorant

IMG_8849

I was going to wait for this DIY, but I ran out of deodorant, so I thought it as a sign.  This is one of my tried and true recipes.  At least for myself and few others.  I try prett hard to limit harmful chemicals and most commercial products tend to have an abundance.  I’ll try not to get too hippie-dippie on you, but having chemicals so close to your heart chakra everyday, physically and soulfully, I don’t see that as very good.

IMG_8846

So here is one of my tried and true recipes.  I got it years ago and have even shared once before.  I guess you can call this a post revamped, but regardless, sharing it again can do no harm.

This deodorant recipe is easy with a few simple ingredients and little time needed.  The best part is, once you buy the ingredients, besides the coconut, they will last for a long time.  I go through coconut oil like bath soap, which is probably the best thing anyone can do for themselves with the amazing benefits!

Also, you can totally adjust this recipe.  If you need something a little bit stronger, up the baking soda.  Senstive?  Less baking soda and more coconut oil.  Like a thicker consistency?  A bit more arrowroot starch will solidify the product in the jar and keep it dry under your arms.  Everyone is different, so don’t be afraid to play your way!

IMG_8843

DIY Deodorant

  • 6 tbs unrefined coconut oil
  • 4 tbs baking soda
  • 4 tbs arrowroot starch
  • 10 drops of essential oil

Mix and refrigerate for an hour.  Lasts about 6 months!

 

Enjoy!

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

