Conscious Beauty: Cleansing Edition

One of the things I’ve been into lately is holistic beauty.  Conscious beauty.  Beauty that is great for you, the environment, and of course, your pockets.  It goes with the concept of being aware of not only what goes inside your body, but what is put on your body as well.  Now, a little disclosure.  I am not perfect.  In the end I do what feels right for myself.  Some stuff may be a little expensive, or bought unaware of the testing involved.  I try, and just hope you can take something out of it, and share your favorite products!
IMG_0201

And it all starts from the beginning, so this is where we will start.

I have naturally very dry, sensitive, porous skin. I have been able to limit my breakouts to one pimple a month, if that, keep my skin looking and feeling neutral, and minimizing the size of my pores with a few simple tricks and products.

Oil Cleansing and Moisturizing.  I do not use soap at any time to clean my face.  Now, I have dry skin and I noticed this oil cleansing has helped me a lot.  I was even one to get pimples a few times a month, but with diet and proper cleaning, it was handled correctly and with care.IMG_0205

My official face cleanser is almond oil.  It’s part of my go-to everyday routine.  I used to do a mixture of castor and almond oil, but found the castor oil to be a little too thick and heavy for my skin.  So with a just a nickel size amount of almond oil onto the hand I apply  it on my face and neck.  I put a face towel under running hot water and squeeze out excess.  Then I put the hot/warm towel on to my face and let sit for about 10 seconds or so.  Just enough time to open up the pores and extract the dirt out.  Makes sense, no?  You want to make sure to pat the towel on your skin, not wipe.

Afterwards, I sprinkle a little cold water onto my face to bring pores back to their original size.  This also helps keep the moisture in.  If you have oilier skin, I recommend you stop here.  For us drying folks, I recommend moisturizing with jojoba oil. This oil is best for sensitive, dry, easily irritated skin.  Vitamin E(also found in almond oil), anti-inflammatory(reduced inflammation) and anti-microbial(fights acne) properties help to heal many types of skin.  Just a dime size, a little goes a long way.

On days when I put on makeup, coconut oil serves as the best makeup remover for myself.  Literally, put on and wipe off and follow with another oil cleanser.

IMG_8205P.S. Products will last for a very long time.  Get a sale and these will last you 6 months to a year!

Now everyone is different.  What works for me, may have different effects for yourself.  I’ve heard of cleansing and moisturizing with olive oil, sesame seed oil, and even avocado oil.  See what works best for you!  I recommend almond because it seems the less heavy out of all of them besides coconut oil and avocado, which are about the same and great for moisturizing.

My last trick for those with dry skin.  I wash my face once a day and usually at night.  Cleansing twice a day dried me out and stressed my skin causing more breakouts!  This helps me rid bacteria/dirt from the day and stay moisturized all night.  In the morning I do a quick rinse with water and moisturize again with coconut oil(antibacterial, proteins, vitamin E).  This oil is light enough to put makeup or leave natural for just a slight dewy look.

IMG_0208I told you I would start from the beginning!  Fresh face for real!

Hope you enjoyed!  I would love to hear any suggestions or comments on products or methods.

Beauty from the inside out, even the outside in 😉

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

