Tampa Bae

IMG_7550

Cheesy title?  Clever title?  Well, I thoroughly enjoy it.  I’m a sucker for silly “pun intended” use of words.  Ya’ dig?

IMG_7514

IMG_7520January 6, 2015. New Jersey.

Anywayssss, so I don’t know if I ever posted on my blog, but I am a born and bred Jersey girl.  I have dealt with beautiful, hot, and humid summers, that come with a side of Jersey Shore dirty water and boardwalks.  And more recently, very cold, snowy winters, which I think now appealed to my younger years of snow days.   I hadn’t realize till now, what a love-hate relationship I had with New Jersey.  If my title hadn’t gave it away, I now reside in the Sunshine State, Florida. More specifically, the ever so growing and moving, suburban-city of Tampa.

IMG_7793

IMG_7559January 9, 2015. Tampa, Florida.

So how does it feel?

Honestly? Bittersweet.

I always said I would be happier in warmer weather.  To be able to hang out outside, not have to worry about layers of clothing, boots, and snow to shovel (even though I never shovel).  I’m a sucker for local produce, raw fruits and veggies, and minimal clothing as possible.  I like to spend money on $5 dollar tshirts, more than $40 dollar sweaters.  Can we talk about the local Florida avocados?

IMG_7595

IMG_7754

IMG_7572

 I’ve been exploring the area a bit more.  Thankful to have a super helpful uncle to inform and show us around.  I like to take frequent trips to different grocery stores.  I have a Whole Foods Market, Walmart, Publix, and local health food store one minute from each other.  Literally.  It’s a pretty busy and crowded area, with every store and chain imaginable around the corner on a main highway.  I wouldn’t say I love it, but I don’t hate it.  It’s convenient and a nice excuse to take an easy ride.

IMG_7605

IMG_7747

So with beautiful weather, local produce, and city vibe, what may be the downfall? Well, the people that aren’t here with me.  I swore I needed the change, I needed something to shake me.  And boy, did Florida shake the fuck out of me.   I believe the stars had forewarned me, as the universe created it.  I never once been away from home for more than a week.  And usually while I was gone, I was surround by family or friends.  I’ve always been a more shy and reserved person when in a new environment.  It’s not till I become comfortable are you privilege to see my crazy, loud, smart-mouthing side 😉

I now wish I can  enjoy this weather and change with everyone I care about.  On one hand, who I know I can count on is here with me. We help each other and can count on each other for a lot, and I really value that right now.  But, girlfriend time over coffee and wine will be limited.  Family birthdays and special events won’t be as easy.  Phone calls, must replace the human interaction I find incredibly special and important.  Touch and sight.  Is this what you call homesick?

IMG_7834

IMG_7870

IMG_7741

I tell myself this is the perfect opportunity to do things I always found harder to do while in Jersey.  With less people around I can focus most of my time with work and activities.  Full-time work and this thing called healthy living as my side hustle.  I can blog now all day and talk about my new experiences and informations with y’all.  I’m excited for what’s to come with this.

You know that quote, “money can’t buy happiness,”?  I’ve never believed so much in the money, even though now, I am trying to do this crazy hard thing called saving.  #adultthangs.  Right now, I’m banking on the Vitamin D to bring me some happiness.  C’mon sun! Warm my soul and give me a tan already!

Will you stick around and see what’s good with Tampa Bay?  Family and friends, if you can’t be here with me, then read along with me.  I always said I wanted to travel and explore something new.  Well I got what I ask for, and hopefully this is just my first stop.

IMG_7690

So here is to change, Florida avocados, humidity, positive vibes, and day dreams.

IMG_7629

IMG_7745

IMG_7873

Namaste,

yesenia

Leave a Reply

