Black Bean Quinoa Salad

IMG_5635

Well, this is a spontaneous kind of post.  I live a spontaneous crazy life.  It’s almost 9pm.  Just got home from work and decided to down a cup a coffee.  Watch out.  I’m ready.

I made this salad in hopes to 1) use up some veggies 2) save money 3) to be healthy 4) to not be hungry.  These are all great efforts, right?  But, what makes it even better?  The fact that it was delicious!!!  I was not expecting that!  I know, so sad.  Sometimes, fast healthy food, doesn’t always work out to my advantage.  I’m human.

After a productive morning, I decided to keep it up by making myself lunch to bring to work.  With already cooked quinoa, farmer market vegetables screaming to be used, and canned beans, the only effort needed was to get out the cutting board.  Seriously, that could be the hardest part sometimes (most of the time.)

A lot of this is estimated, because like I said, I wasn’t expecting to post this!  So it’s a good sign that it is an easy and accessible recipe!  Definitely experiment with different veggies, such as tomatoes, cucumbers, parsley, or even different vinaigrettes. Use your imagination!  And let me know about the deliciousness you create 😉

IMG_5637

Black Bean Quinoa Salad

  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 cobs corn, scraped from husk
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1/4 cup capers
  • small bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tbs apple cider vinegar
  • drizzle extra virgin olive oil
  • salt to taste

Combine all in a bowl and mix!!!!

P.S. Limited pictures due to spontaneity!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

