Berry Chia Jam

IMG_5509

Can we just talk about first how I planned this post a week ago and when I finally stopped procrastinating enough to get down to it yesterday, the post disappears as I try to save.  So, this will be the second time around.  I hope it’s as good as the first.  I usually wing it, but I guess this one will be prewritten/edited.

Anyways….. This one is a good one.  This one is an easy one.  What more can you ask for?

Sometimes I like my breakfasts to have a sweet kick to them.  Like, not just fresh fruit sweet, but a little sugar in the mix.  AKA: jelly.  Whether it is healthified with almond butter on a sprouted muffin, an indulgent topping on pancakes, or a sweet snack on top of crusty bread, I am all for jam/jelly/preserves.  (Can someone tell me the difference?)

I’ve actually been seeing different versions of this recipe for a while now all over the internet, but never got around to actually making it.  Partly because, well, I could buy jelly.  Yet, when times get tough and you run out, you learn to make that sweet substance?  Am I right?  You can’t deny your wants!  So I took what I have on hand, and saw this as the perfect opportunity to make  a healthier homemade version.

Now, this doesn’t involve real jelly making, using pectin or a thermometer (do you use one of those for jelly?), but rather 3 ingredients that I always have on hand anyways.  Fruit.  Sugar.  Chia Seeds.  Sweeeet!  I used to frozen fruit for this recipe and though it seems like the perfect opportunity to use fresh summer fruit, I find the frozen fruit to work just right.  All them juices from when the fruit boils?  Perfect!

IMG_5511

Berry Chia Jam

  • 16 oz bag frozen mixed berries (or any fruit, frozen or fresh)
  • 3 tbs chia seeds
  • 2 or 3 tbs sugar

In a medium saucepan over high heat, pour frozen berries.  Cover and let sit for about 3 minutes.  Once there is liquid and fruit is heated, mash until some chunks remain.  Lower heat to medium and add chia seeds and sugar.  Stir for another 3 minutes or so until jam thickens and chia seeds enlarge.  Let cool before transferring to an empty jar.  Keep in the fridge for about a week.

IMG_5506

Enjoy!

PS.  I’m torn between “jam” and “jelly”.  But I think “jam” sounds better for a recipe 🙂

One comment

  1. Hello!

    My name is Emelie and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us!

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 4000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the traffic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!

    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Emelie
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

