Spring Detox Part 2

Good morning ya’ll!

Hope everyone has had an amazing week!!! Mine definitely had it’s ups and downs.  I took quite a hiatus, first due to work.  My schedule has changed drastically and it’s definitely going to take some time to get used to.  I’ve been keeping focused with work, eating right, and some yoga.  Can we also talk about how I lost 4 months of information on my phone?  Yea, it was somewhat traumatizing, especially for me who had so many pictures!!  You know what that means?  This might be a slightly less appeasing post to the eye.  No pictures from my detox 😦

So let’s talk about how the rest went, shall we?

What I ate/drank?

  • Lemon with water upon awaking
  • Green juice every morning.  Nothing like starting your day with greens, ginger, and lemon.
  • Raw ginger cereal with raw cashew milk.
  • Green tea once a day
  • Gut lovin’ salad.  There will be a post on that soon!  It’s so good and taste so fresh.
  • Kombucha
  • More juice!  Preferably the Carrot Juice from Suja, or the Blueprint Beet Juice.
  • Ginger or peppermint tea

What I did?

  • #yogaeverydamnday (sweat)
  • Only breakfast and lunch
  • 5am or 5:30am wake up calls
  • Bed between 10pm – 11pm

How I felt?

Amazing during and after!  I lasted 5 great days.  I was never hungry, which was one of my priorities.  I wanted to enjoy everything about this detox.

My body felt light with all the fresh food and juices.  My yoga practice also helped by sweating out the toxins and giving me more strength. *Staying grounded during a detox, can actually be very difficult.  You’re body and mind may want to take flight, resulting in not being able to concentrate in everyday life task.  A vata obstacle.

Can we get real for a little?  My intestines were definitely moving.  I was regular and going to the bathroom easier and more frequently.  Just in the morning, I noticed a lot more evacuation.  This let me feel more secure with my body and health.  Nothing is worse than feeling backed up and bloated while trying to lighten up!  I was also great not to depend on breakfast in order to go.  I was able to go at times after my lemon with water or green juice.

Now we can talk about energy.  I don’t remember ever feeling depleted like I usually do!  I was fine with no coffee in the morning.  My yoga practice definitely woke me up every morning.  Through out the day, I made sure to keep myself well hydrated and fed, to not promote any drop in blood sugar.  I went to bed feeling light and was able to wake up easy by 5:30 every morning!  Less food is sometimes more guys!  I really couldn’t believe how well it turned out!

I highly recommend this detox if you are a health conscious eater to begin with.  You must love food and vegetables enough to want to nourish your body with it for a good amount of time.  Because, I did eat “normally” I extended my detox for a medium length of time.  Of course a juice cleanses would be shorter and a whole food cleanse would be a duration of a couple of weeks.  I had 1 cheat meal from Whole Foods and it was amazing.  Just a mostly raw salad and a kombucha, but it was just the slight midweek treat I needed 😉

You want to love what you are doing for yourself, basically because you love and respect the body you possess. We are all just souls, protected by your body.  Honor it!  Love it!

If you have any questions or would like to share your detox experience, please share!!! I love to talk more and hear what others have to say.  It’s always a learning experience for everyone.

IMG_5367

Till next time!

 

yesenia

 

Leave a Reply

