Fast and Delicious Warming Meals!

Can you believe more snow?!

I actually can.  I do not believe winter to be over till after March 20, and even then can it be seen as a bold statement.  Since most of us still have our day-to-day duties, I put together a list of fast and easy meals I love to prepare during these winter months!

When all you have is less than an hour (30 min) to prepare something, I keep in mind some staples

  • Vegetables!!! Easy to prepare vegetables to be exact.  Sautéed greens and mushrooms are two of favorites.  You can also roast a sweet potato in the beginning of the week and get use of it a couple of times.  I’m a big fan of a whole bunch of let’s-use-this-now-before-it-goes-bad vegetable dishes.  Throw it all in a pan and cook!
  • Protein.  Ready made meats if you prefer.  I love a good fried egg or two.  Eggs seems to go over anything.  Whether rice and beans, pasta, or bread, you are good to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
  • Starches.  I know pasta is fast and versatile for a lot of people.  I’m more of quinoa, potatoes, and bread.  That’s something for everyone.  You can even make a pot of rice even and save for the week.
  • Sauces!!! Lifesavers in a jar.  I know it’s not as homemade, and probably the homemade stuff tastes 10x better, but for what we are looking for they will do.  Whether a tomato sauce for pasta, or curry sauce for Indian, your dish will taste damn delicious  and so easily!

IMG_4922Thai Curry Noodles:  Soba noodles, sautéed veggies, massaman curry sauce, fried egg, and sriracha.

IMG_4652Sweet Potato, Kale, and Chickpea Madras Curry.  Easy recipe promise 😉

 

IMG_5389A Crazy Yummy Mess:  Sweet potato, sautéed kale and mushrooms, and quinoa with a half cup tomato sauce.  Topped with an avocado.

IMG_2898Semi-homemade Chili:  Sauteed kale and butternut squash, canned chili, and fried egg.  Topped with sriracha.

IMG_4092Curried Lentils and Butternut Squash:  An oldie but a goodie!

As you can see there’s a lot of warmth and root vegetables going on here.  Until spring I still highly recommend some.  But, even I’ve been noticing the need for a little more lighter (raw?!) foods, as they are making an appearance in my diet.    I think my body is trying to tell me something that we all already know…. sooner or later, spring shall be here!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

