Spaghetti Squash Pasta

IMG_3212

So I had a planned a whole different post for you guys.  Actually was about 2/3 done with post when I realized, I didn’t want to post it.  Happens right?  Almost done, and then realize, but I don’t want to do this with my life.  Ugh, I wish I didn’t know that so well.  But, I am talking about good last minute changes.  Tasty ones, too.  Because it involves pasta, made out of vegetables.  Hallelujah!

IMG_3202

I’ve been making this for a few years now every fall.  It’s my go to when I need to boost up my veggie intake, or keep things on the lighter side.  A fast meal, once you bake the squash, you can easily eat in 15 minutes just by adjusting whatever toppings you like.  I like to start baking it an hour and half ahead if I know I want it that day, if not the day/night before is fine!

This is pretty semi homemade, too.  Topped with jarred pasta sauce, a can of sardines, and some goat cheese, lunch was served.  Oh, and of course there were brussels sprouts, roasted to a crisp.  Gotta get my greens in 😉

IMG_3203Baked Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients

  • 1 medium/large spaghetti squash
  • 2 pints brussel sprouts
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt and peppa
  • pasta sauce
  • anything else your heart desires

Preheat oven to 400.  Take your squash and with a good knife and sturdy cutting board, cut in half.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Top with salt and peppa.  Rub into the top of the squash, to make sure fully coasted.  Place on a baking sheet and into the oven.

Cut the stems/bottoms of the brussel sprouts.  Depending the size, cut in half or leave them whole.  Spread out on a baking sheet, and top with olive oil, vinegar, salt and peppa.  Coat evenly and place into the oven with squash.

Plan accordingly.  Squash needs about one hour untouched.  Brussel sprouts need love and affection.  After 20 min, stir brussels sprouts in baking sheet and then leave for another 20 minutes.  When squash is ready, let cool for about 10 minutes, then take a fork and scrape out the insides.  Should come out like spaghetti!

Top as you wish and enjoy 🙂

IMG_3215

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

