Vegan Banana Walnut Muffins

Good Morning!!!

IMG_2411

So this morning seems kind of dreary.  The kind where you just want to stay in bed, with piles of blankets, and maybe sleep for a little bit longer.  Maybe, I’m saying that because that’s what I did.  Funny how even after my morning routines, if the weather permits, 20 minute morning naps are glorious.  You know what else this gloomy weather is good for?  Baking!

IMG_2416

In the fall, it does not have to be gloomy for me to bake.  It has to be cold!  Any excuse to warm up my house a little more, warm up my body with some good food.  And breakfast is just the same.  I’m not really a stand over the stove type of person.  I’m more of the set and forget it type, and watch the oven make your house smell amazing.  Is that horrible to let something else to all the work?  I swear I put in my share during clean up time!

IMG_2414

These Banana Walnut Muffins are simple and sweet enough for a breakfast treat.  And I swear they are healthy too!  With some fruit and yogurt, you are good to go!  This is perfect when you have those very spotty, pretty black, looking bananas hanging out on your counter.  I love to use those to bake or even my oatmeals, but since we had a lot, muffins were my Sunday morning baking treat 🙂

IMG_2417Vegan Banana Walnut Muffins adapted from Veganomicon

Ingredients

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbs molasses
  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • walnuts, chopped/crushed
  • coconut sugar

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease/line muffin tin.

In a big bowl, mash the banana until very smooth.  Add the coconut oil, sugar, and molasses, and mix well with a whisk or fork.  In a separate smaller bowl mix all of the dry ingredients except for walnuts and coconut sugar.  Fold in about one or two handfuls of walnuts to the batter.  Slowly add in the dry ingredients to the wet.  Fold in and just mix to combine.  No need for whisking or machinery.  Once combined, pour batter in the muffin tin.  Sprinkle very little coconut sugar upon each muffin, and if you like, more walnuts.  Place tin 20 minutes in the oven.  Enjoy!!!

*Can easily be made into banana bread, just increase cooking time by about 20 minutes.  If you enjoy a denser, held together muffin, I would add about a tablespoon of flax.

IMG_2427

I wouldn’t judge you if you want to spread some butter on this 😉

 

yesenia

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

