Good Morning Routines Part 1

Good morning everyone!

I hope you all had a good weekend.  Mine was both busy and relaxing.  Even though I can go for another day off, I’ll take what I can get and make myself mentally prepared for another work week.  Although, this morning proved that to be very difficult.

Anyways, I want to talk about a few simple ways to detox…. every morning.  I’ve been doing these different things for a couple of years, to a couple of months.  From the time I wake up and the hour following are the most crucial part of my days.  It gets me centered, prepared, and open to what the day will bring.

1.  Wake up before the sunrise.  This is a more difficult concept for people to grasp.  Mostly because their is no “scientific proof” but more beliefs.  Before the sunrise there is a certain energy on the earth.  The energy of awakening mixed with tranquility.  It is the most quiet of the day, so when you wake up, you as well want to do it gently.  With nature, you start your day peacefully, slowly, and in a more meditative state.

2.  Oil pulling.  This one I just started practicing for myself, but I have been reading about it for a while now.  The point of oil pulling is to get rid of all the bacteria that has accumulated in your mouth during the night, and day before.  With one tablespoon of coconut (or sesame) oil, you swish the oil in your mouth for 5 to 20 minute in your mouth.  This pulls out all the bacteria from in between your teeth, gums, and tongue.  Afterwards, you just spit out in the toilet, rinse your mouth, and then brush your teeth as regular.  This method of oil pulling has been shown to reduce plaque and whiten your teeth with a few weeks time. I’ve been doing it for about two weeks now and my teeth definitely feel cleaner, but I’m still waiting for some whitening effects.  Here’s a fun video going more in depth of this detoxifying step.

3.  Warm water with lemon.  This is something I wish I could scream about on the top of my lungs.  It’s amazing.  It’s something I tried a long time ago to try and help me with my constipation issues back in the day (sorry if that was tmi).  Now, I see all the other benefits from this morning ritual.  With a cup of just boiled water and a half a lemon, I sit down in silence and enjoy this tea.  Our body’s become very acidic from the food and digestion process that is going through our body’s every day.  Lemon is more of an alkaline which consuming first thing in the morning brings out balance with the acidity.  It’s a natural body detoxifier.  The warm water gets your lymphatic system moving and hydrated while the lemon detoxifies.

And so we stop here my friends.  It’s Monday, and I know I can handle only so much.  Today proved to be those mornings when you just wanted to stay in bed and pretend for one more hour that the weekend was still upon us….

IMG_2106

Till next time,

 

yesenia

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

