Mixed Berry Crumble

IMG_1454

Good morning guys!

Umm, yes, it really has been a while.  I’ve only been throwing photos in your face for over a week, so I think it’s time for a little substance.  You know, words to read, sentences to put together, a story to enjoy.  I might not go as far as a story, but I’ll let you know about a little something.

On Sunday, the day we officially deemed ourselves done from vacation, all I wanted to do was get my life together.  Ok, I may be on the dramatic side right now, but I did need to prep and domesticate myself.  Some at-home yoga, cleaning, groceries, and home-cooking made the list.  And I think what made me feel best of all was some home cooking.  After going out all week, I can honestly say I just wanted to eat something simple and familiar.  I think being in that kitchen made me realize how much I missed it.  So much so that I extended it to dessert.  I baked!

IMG_1442

A berry crumble.  An easy and quick dessert.  A home-made comfort food.  Simple with prominent flavors.  A great combination of textures.  Serve with ice-cream and you have the best of the hot and cold sensation. Those were just simple facts I was giving about the beauty of a crumble in general.  I love the way it can go with any fruit.

IMG_1445

This berry crumble, I made with frozen berries.  Yes, I did.  Usually, I use fresh fruit, but because it was last minute, I didn’t have enough fruit to spare on one dessert.  I was trying to let my new fruit haul last the week, you feel me?  Anyway, since it was frozen I made sure to thaw it out a little by rinsing under warm water and letting it drain a little.  It still came out a bit more liquidity, but I added notes in case you don’t want such a thing.  But I can assure you, a crumble with a little more juiciness is not such a bad thing!

IMG_1450

 

Mixed Berry Crumble

Crumble

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter ( we used vegan earth balance) *cold
  • 1 tsp almond extract

Berries

  • 2  16oz bags frozen mixed berries (or whatever you like)
  • 1 tbs sugar

 * 1 tbs cornstarch

Preheat oven to 350.  Start with the berries.  Either let thaw for a couple of hours and drain, or do a quick rinse to get the frost out.  Pour berries into a 9×9 inch baking pan.  Add 1 tbs of sugar.  If you didn’t have time to thaw and drain the your fruit, like me 🙂 , you may coat the fruit with corn starch for a thicker filling.

For the crumble, mix all the ingredients except butter and almond extract, together.  With a fork or even your hands,  break apart butter onto the mixture and mash until thick balls of butter are covered with flour.  You are not trying to make a smooth batter!  Before you are finished, add the almond extract.  Even left over dry flour is ok.  It will eventually soak up the juice of the berries.

Pour crumble mixture on top of berries and place the pan in the oven for 30-35 minutes.  Take out and let cool just enough to serve warm.  Enjoy with some ice cream, please!

IMG_1460

 

Next time, I might add the cornstarch.  I didn’t think of it until after, and maybe a gooey texture would be pretty tasty.  At least no flavor will be left behind 😉

Hope you enjoy the day, loves!

yesenia

Leave a Reply

