Tomato and Cucumber Salad with Marinated Olives

Good morning ya’ll!

I hope your ready for an easy delicious recipe.  Lately I’ve been trying to eat delicious food all day everyday.  Even my simple meals are actually things I love to eat and don’t really get tired of.  I thought I continue my summer lovin’ eats yesterday, but with more wholesome homemade meals.

BreakfastIMG_0333Whole grain waffles, organic cream cheese, and local strawberries.  Might become one of my favorite breakfasts.  It was too good.  Cup of coffee on a rainy morning!

LunchIMG_0335Bacalaitos (codfish fritters) con cafe.  My grandma has been on a roll with all this cooking.  Especially vegan/pescatarian cooking.  It’s amazing how easy it is for her to cook for me now, when just a year ago, she never knew what to do.  Believe it or not, I’m a pretty simple girl 😉

DinnerIMG_0309

The other day I decided to use up some very ripe tomatoes and cucumbers that have been in my fridge for way to long, before everything went bad.  I used to make simple summer salads all the time so I thought now would be the perfect time to begin once more.  This recipe is actually incredibly easy (umm, 4 ingredients only) and makes for part of a fast and simple dinner.  It’s also very versatile, so there is something for everyone!

IMG_0311Tomato and Cucumber Salad with Marinated Olives

Ingredients

  • 2 tomatoes roughly chopped
  • 2 cucumbers roughly chopped
  • heaping half cup marinated olives (juice included)
  • 2 tbs oregano
  • salt and peppa if needed

Toss the tomatoes, cucumbers, and olives together in a large bowl.  Add oregano and taste.  Depending on how your olives were dressed you may want to add more salt and pepper.  I did not, as I thought the olives gave the salad enough saltiness and tang for myself.

IMG_0342That’s it!  So simple!  I enjoyed mine with some fresh mozzerella cheese.  Make it vegan with some chickpeas!!  Add some quinoa for a great one bowl meal.  With some veggies on the side and some meat/fish.  You have an amazing full and healthy meal.

IMG_0343Roasted eggplant and zucchinni and quinoa to soak up all the juices 🙂

This is perfect for summer.  With mostly chopping you can get away with something filling and cooling.  I roasted my vegetable just because I was too lazy to mess with the grill, but I highly recommend being nothing like me and grill the hell out of your veggies.  Always worth it.  The quinoa was made a couple days before as we use it for the week for salads and sides.

Enjoy my loves,

yesenia

P.S  I was definitely on a dairy kick yesterday.  I think I’m done for few days, for my tummy will thank me.

Leave a Reply

