Old Fashioned Bread Pudding

I’m doing it again.

IMG_7334

I take some time off and bribe you to keep reading with a recipe.  I can’t help it.  They say a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, so does that pertain to all my foodies out there?  Maybe I’m just hoping everyone is as easy as me, or as hungry as me 😉

Sunday mornings have come to be my indulgent me time.  Sometimes, when there is lack of planning I’ll toast myself some waffles.  Yummy with jam, butta, and/or syrup, it’s an easy quick way to have something different and delicious.  Too bad I’m not here to talk about waffles though.  It’s about the bread pudding for this post.

Every Sunday or Monday when I do groceries for the week, I buy a fresh loaf of bread.  I’ve become very partial to some of the made-in-house bread from my local Whole Foods.  I can’t even remember the last time I had any other type of packaged or frozen bread.  Since I am the only one who takes advantage of that deliciousness, I can never by myself finish that bread, ever!  So, what does any girl young thrifty nothing-shall-go-to-waste girl do with old bread?  Make bread pudding!

IMG_7328

I try to make it the day before to let soak in the fridge.  This allows for a moist and fluffy breakfast treat.  And then day of you just stick it in the oven right when you get up.  Ingredients are humble, the recipe is simple, and the result is anything but.  So easy.  So good.  Can I say necessary, too?

Old Fashioned Bread Pudding

IMG_7340

Ingredients

  • 1/3 -1/2 loaf whole wheat bread
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 handful raisins

In a mini-casserole dish, break apart the bread into about 1 inch cubes.  In a separate bowl, mix in all the ingredients excluding the raisins.  Pour the mixture into the pan, on top of the bread and squish the bread into mixture to ensure every part is wet.  Than sprinkle the raisins on top.  Gently pat down the surface.  Cover the dish and put in the fridge over night.  The next morning preheat oven to 350 and place the dish inside uncovered for about 50 min to 1 hour.  You want the crust crispy and the inside moist.

IMG_7339

Enjoy with any thing!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

