Sweet Potato, Kale, and Chickpea Madras Curry

Happy Friday!!

I hope you all are getting ready for a great weekend.  If you live around me, I hope your getting ready for a snowy weekend.  I really don’t like to use the word storm.  It just gives a negative thought, for what is mother nature doing her job.  My weekend started yesterday, and I took the whole day to catch up on school work.  By 6 o’clock, I shut my computer and was happy to not bother with it the rest of the night.  Instead I read.  Cheers to the weekend!!

Even though its the weekend, like most, people go out or are able to make badass meals, in case you are looking for easy, delicious, taste like restaurant goodness to me, I got the perfect recipe.  And it starts with this baby:

IMG_5257basically orgasams in a bottle

Now I am usually not one for premade sauces.  I love home-made, for the love and time that’s put in it, and taste of course.  Well, I’m busy.  I wanted a good meal, and this has awesome written all over it.  Not really, but I read good things about this sauce.  The best part:

IMG_5258Small, known ingredients!!! Yay for no preservatives, artificial, or chemical nonsense!

Guys, this is really amazing.  Indian comfort food, easily with in your grasp.  Spicy and sweet at the same time.  With just very little chopping and boiling on your part, you are good to go in less than 30 minutes.

IMG_5265

Sweet Potato, Kale, and Chickpea Madras Curry

  • 2 bottles madras curry sauce
  • 1 large sweet potato cubed
  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1 bunch of kale ripped from stems
  • cooked brown rice or quinoa to serve

Put sweet potato to boil for 20 minutes (just enough water to cover the sweet potatoes .  In a separate sautee pan, dump both bottle s of the madras curry sauce, but don’t throw away the bottles just yet!  Over medium heat begin to let simmer.  Add the chickpeas.  Once sweet potatoes are ready, carefully transfer to the curry sauce.  Use the water from the sweet potatoes to clean out the curry bottles.  Just pour water in, give a little shake, and pour into the simmer sauce.  The sauce will seem more liquidy, but once you let simmer again for about 5-10 min it will thicken back up.  Once at desired consistency  turn off the heat, and add pieces of the kale and mix.  Cover until kale wilts.

IMG_5262

Serve with brown rice (maybe some naan if you have it handy) and a little cilantro on top.  Enjoy your pretty plate of Indian deliciousness.

or have as leftovers (even better)

IMG_5276Quinoa, curry, and a local fried egg.  Amazing!

Enjoy your weekend lovelies!

yesenia

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

