Self Care: DIY Face Cleanser

Morning people!!!

Happy Friday!  Happy February!  Any excitement??  I just can’t believe January is over.  If you did some kind of resolution or intention, I hope they are still working out for you! January is over, but we still have 11 more months to make something happen.  I actually made some “January Intentions,” as a way to slowly work through my major goals for the year.  Some worked out.  Some did not.  But there is no giving up.  February Intention’s have been made, so advise you to do the same and keep on working on what you really want from this year.

Anyways, one of my intention’s of January was to try some DIY beauty products.  I started to really understand and believe that what you put in your body is just as important as what you put on it.  Yes, we ingest our food, and food definitely affects us inside out.  Yet, when I think about all those beauty products, made in laboratories  chemicals, GMO’s, and animal testing, I rather just pass and see what I may do for myself!  All natural, simple ingredients.  Mother nature at her finest!

Since this is the month of LOVE, I thought throughout February I would do a bit of a Self Care edition with typical beauty products.  Could be a DIY, product, or routine.  Nothing says love, like the way you treat and beautify yourself first.  Only then can you truly see that in others 🙂

DIY Face Cleanser

I always tried to stay as natural with my products as possible, and when it came to face cleanser and face moisturizer, I was really particular.  I tend to have normal to dry skin, with a few breakouts here and there.  Well, let me tell you I have not had a break out in over a month!  It could be diet, it could be the fact that I don’t wear makeup anymore, or it could be the fact I have been cleaning my face with straight oil for the last month.

Ahhh oil, the gift of the gods.  Satisfying in a meal, enriching on the skin.  At first I used coconut oil, which was good, but left my skin a little dry the next day.  After learning what oils were good for my body type, I found the right oils and recipe that left my skin feeling awesome!

Best part….. so easy!

IMG_5180

Face Cleanser

adapted from Mind Body Green

  • castor oil
  • almond oil (I based this off of my dosha, depending on your body type, use any kind of oil)
  • face towel

Depending on your skin type…

Normal:  1/2 cup castor oil + 1/2 cup almond oil

Dry: more almond oil – 1/4 cup castor + 3/4 cup almond

Oily:  more castor oil – 2/3 cup castor + 1/3 cup almond

Application: place a small amount in palm of your hand and rub into your face. With a hot wet towel, place onto skin and tap your face.  The steam opens pores and extracts all the dirt.  Once towel is at room temp, wipe your face gently with the towel.  Enjoy a soft, dewy, clean glow!

IMG_5182

*I found that no moisturizer was needed, as the oils did enough.

For me, this was about 2/3 of the cost I would spend for a cleanser and moisturizer, and only because I bought the big castor oil so it would last.  Buying the initial ingredients may be pricey at first, but once you have on hand, you have a lot to work with and combine.  It makes for a pretty cool collection too!

IMG_5184

As always eat right, sleep tight!  Simple “let yourself glow” tips 😉

Enjoy your weekend lovies,

yesenia

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

