3-Bean Sweet Potato and Kale Chili (stew?)

Hello beautiful people!!

Let me tell you that it was hard not to blog the last couple of days.  It’s such a nice part of my routine, to be able to share, hopefully interesting and positive, thoughts and aspects about what’s going on.  Yet, things come up.  So instead, I have a lot more things to share with you!

Mini Detox

So, remember how I said I needed to get back to the healthy track, maybe mini detox?  Three days is what I aimed for and what I did!  Now this wasn’t the best detox… for me.  Basically, I strived for whole foods.  No bread, pasta, or sugar, and solely plant-based.  I also made sure I went to yoga all three days.  Sweat is a necessity for a detox.

Breakfasts

IMG_5151Banana Whipped Oatmeal (x3) with green tea

Lunches

IMG_5142Quinoa, garbanzos, mushrooms, tomato sauce.  Balsamic roasted broccoli.

IMG_51563-bean chili recipe coming up!!

Dinner snacks

IMG_5145IMG_5154And just another larabar for yesterdays dinner.

Pros and Cons

  • Con:  If you are detoxing, it’s important to take it easy, mentally.  No worries, or bad emotions about what’s going on in your life or what you should be doing.  For me that didn’t work.  I was preoccupied with other things to try and make this detox worth while
  • Pro:  My tummy slimmed down
  • Con:  I bloated at night!  The first night was really bad, and I think it was because of the apple.  I learned that raw apples do not do my body good like it used to.  Just the larabar was fine for me though.
  • Pro:  Cravings went away.  I was craving pasta, burgers, and scones like a mad woman!  I guess my body got used to just eating whatever.
  • Con:  Sleep deprived.  I was working late every night and still waking up early.  My body wasn’t hasn’t done that since the holiday season.  Naps became a necessary activity.
  • A Really Big Pro: Triphala.  Supports digestion and membrane of the digestive tract.  Lets just say that towards the end of last week, going to the bathroom was not one of my favorite things to do.  If I was going to do this mini detox, I wanted to make the most out of it.  I have heard of this ayurvedic herb for awhile now, but since I am very hestitant toward supplements, I never made the effort to try it.  I AM SO GLAD I DID.  It’s not a laxative where it makes you go.  It just helps to regulate.  Ayurveda is very big on digestion, a healthy gut, and healthy lymphatic system.  So to be blunt and honest, morning elimination was just as it should be for me.  If you would like to learn more please visit this link, as it explains poop more in depth.

Doing experiments and detoxes definitely definitely helps one know what works, and doesn’t work for their body.  It is ever changing, but once I grasp something it makes living healthy and comfortably a little more easier.  With that said my experiment with Ayurveda is working out, and by that I mean it is working at my advantage.  

The only thing that I tried to keep up with was my big lunches.  But even the first lunch of quinoa and broccoli didn’t satisfy me like this chili did.  This chili had the warming spices, that are healing for my dosha and the winter months in general.  Adjust the spices to your liking!  This could also technically just be a stew, since I used no chili powder. LOL

 

3-Bean Sweet Potato and Kale Chili (stew?)

  • 2 large sweet potatoes cubed
  • canola oil
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 4 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 1/2 15 oz can whole peeled tomatoes (there was one opened in my fridge I wanted to finish)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can garbanzos
  • ~ 2 cups quinoa (cooked)
  • 1 bunch fresh kale
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp  ground cardamon
  • 3/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/3 bunch fresh cilantro
  • salt and peppa

In a large pot put the sweet potatoes to boil, for about 20 minutes.

While waiting for the sweet potatoes, start chili in another pot.  With about 2 tbs of canola oil, sautee onions, till they are translucent.  Add garlic, and sautee for another 2 minutes.  Add the tomato sauce, and crush a little further to even out the chunks.  Bring to a simmer.  Once sweet potatoes are ready transfer them and most of the water into the tomato sauce.  This will ensure that most of the nutrients from the water are in the chili and add more volume to the recipe.  Add all your beans and spices to the pot.  Leave out the cilantro and salt and peppa.  Let simmer for about 25 min with the cover tilted, to let some steam come out and sauce to thicken.  Stir in the quinoa and turn off the heat.  Rip the kale into big junks and stir into the pot.  Salt and peppa to taste.  Before serving add the cilantro for a fresh taste!

IMG_5165Avocado always rounds out the meal 🙂

I hope you guys have a great rest of the day!  It’s beautiful by me, so hopefully I can get out in the fresh air!

yesenia

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

