Mid-week “Gourmet” Recipes

Good morning people!!

I hope you all had a fabulous Monday!  You know what I actually didn’t realize till after the post?? Yesterday was Martin Luther King Jr Day!  Ugh, so horrible.  I didn’t remember till I went to yoga and it was packed.  Well the rest of the day, I took in all the inspiration and positivism of the class, and even social media, I could get in.  One that really stuck with me was from my yoga teacher.  She said something along the line of  “You know you’re living out your own thoughts when people start to think you are crazy.”  Pretty neat right?  If I had a penny for all the times my friends, family, or aquaintances thought I was wierd, looked at me like I was crazy, or even amazed (less negative crazy), I would be hell’a rich!  It’s very true though.  Those that go against the “normal”, what is familiar, or what they grew up with, big props to you!  It’s never easy to be the minority in something you truly believe in.  When you have the courage to speak up or act out, it could only better how you feel and maybe even touch the lives of others.  Here’s another one from King himself, “Almost always, the creative dedicated minority has made the world better.”

Enough motivation for you?  I try, just because i like ya.

Anybody interested in a bunch of quick recipes?  To me, I love a meal that just seems a little more special.  I actually promised this last week, so my apologies.  I hope you enjoy this sometime soon.  Each recipe is super easy and all together will be super tasty!

Roasted Veggies, Cilantro Quinoa, Herbed Tomato Sauce, Lemon Dill Trout

IMG_4921

Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Butternut Squash

  • a hefty bag of brussel sprouts halved
  • 1 butternut squash cubed
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt and peppa

Preheat oven to 375.  Scatter veggies between two trays.  Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  Few pinches of salt and peppa to taste.  Mix together.  Let cook for about an hour.

Cilantro Quinoa

  • 2 cups of quinoa
  • 4 cups of water
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro chopped
  • salt

In a medium pot bring the quinoa and water to a boil.  Then adjust the heat to a simmer and cover for about 15 minutes.  Once done, fluff with a fork and add in the olive oil and salt right away.  Once a bit cooled (5-10 min)  add in cilantro.

Herbed Tomato Sauce

  • 1 yellow onion chopped
  • 3 bulbs of garlic minced
  • 15 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • 1 tbs thyme
  • 1 tbs parsley
  • 1 tbs basil
  • salt and peppa

In a medium sauce pan heat olive oil and add in the onions and garlic.  Let the onions sweat and add in the diced tomatoes.  Raise heat till it starts to simmer.  Add in the herbs and adjust heat so it doesn’t start boiling.  Let simmer for about 15 minutes.  Add salt and peppa to taste.

Lemon Dill Trout

  • 2 big trout fillets
  • olive oil
  • 1 lemon
  • dill
  • paprika
  • salt and peppa

In clear 9×13 pan place the fillets next to eachother.  Drizzle some olive oil, the juice of 1 lemon, sprinkle some dill and paprika to your liking.  Rub into the fish.  Salt and peppa to taste.  We grilled ours for about 30 minutes.  Depending on how thick your cut is, adjust the cooking time.

*Its best to start the vegetables first since they take the longest.  While they are cooking, you can cook the stove-top dishes and fish till its complete.  I may have gotten lucky with a helping hand from the bro on the grill.  Girls gotta do what a girls gotta do 😉

 

Leave a Reply

