Truth Part 2… with a Side of Cupcakes!

Promise this one is a little more exciting!

How are you all today!

I seriously missed talking to you like this!  Is it wierd that I feel like I’m actually talking to someone when I’m writing a regular ol’ post?  Oh well, a bit more personal for the both of us I think.  Anyways, I hope your weekend was spectacular!  Mine was pretty good, practically involved everything I enjoy.  Yay!

Saturday

Kinda went like this.  Yoga in the am.

IMG_4698

This would be breakfast with the bro.  Cute right 🙂  Sauteed kale, mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs, and toast with avocado.  What up!

Then to the market.  Let me just show u why I love me some Whole Foods.

IMG_4702100%  grassfed local meat.  I actually didn’t have any, but it’s nice to know it’s there.  I did however buy some for my parents.  When she looks at the receipt she was a bit less than thrilled….  Surprise!

IMG_4706

Butternut squash soup with whole grain bread.  Snacking at Whole Foods!

Dinner

IMG_4707Father made white rice and beans while I pan-fried a piece of wild caught North Atlantic Flounder.  It was pretty darn delicious.  I haven’t had a piece of fish in forever, so it was nice to be able to buy a good kind and make it for myself.  Twas delicious.

I ended up going out later with some friends.  Miniture golfing in the dark!

IMG_4708

Sunday

IMG_4740Breakfast of Banana Whipped Oats

Insert church with the familia

IMG_4741Leftover fish with a baked sweet potato and brocolli.  Yum!

Insert baby time with my aunts baby girl.  I would post pictures, but if I don’t get approval I try not to.  Privacy and respect kinda thang.

IMG_4755

Veggie subs of breaded eggplant, peppers, brocolli rabe and cheese.  I hate being picky at people’s houses.  I was just grateful they had something I could make do with.

Insert Truth

I really wanted to go to the Whole Foods where my aunt lives.  One to check it out, two because I forgot a couple of things when I went the day before for my detox list.  Long story short, we didn’t go and I wasn’t about to go all the way out for the 3rd time in a row to Whole Foods to get what I needed, to then come back late and stay up to make my meals.  I was pissed, upset, and ready to cry.  Ok, I may be exaggerating on the last part, but still, I was really upset.  If I was going to do this detox, I was going to do it right.  I did shortcuts the last time, no point in doing it again.

I know what my body needs and my body didn’t need this detox.  I need to start eating right, cooking more, drinking less coffee, and consuming less “gotta have it!” sugars.  My body, has already accustomed to winter eating, it just needs to reroute to more mindful habits.  I started to get extremely cold again and tired, and I think it’s from not so great sleep and food.  People have even told me eat meat and protein.  Yea, I have been.  Fish, eggs, and red meat can all be feature on this site people!

I making a commitment to at least try this week.  I have more time (hello 15 hr work week!) to cook, and sleep.  Let this week be a rejuvination if you will.  True story… I want some veggie soup now!

For now, please accept my apology of terminating this detox plan.  Would cupcakes make you feel better?  Thought of you while they were coming out of the oven 🙂

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Dark Chocolate Ganache n Coconut

adapted from The PPK

Cake

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/3 cup Hershey’s Dark coco powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350.  Whisk the almond milk and vinegar together first and set aside for a couple of minutes to curdle.  While waiting, in a separate bowl combine all the dry ingredients together, flour, coco, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Add in the sugar, oil, and vanilla, to the almond milk mixture and whisk to combine.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and whisk till only small clumps remain.  Fill cupcake tray about 3/4 of the way.  Put in the oven for 20 min.

Ganache

  • 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • 3.5 oz bar of good quality dark chocolate
  • 1 tbs of agave nectar

In a sauce pan over medium heat, bring almond milk to a simmer.  Break chocolate bar into small pieces and stir into the pan.  Once melting, take pan out of the heat and add in the agave.  Keep stirring till you reach desire consistancy.

Once cupcakes and ganache have cooled, add about a table spoon of ganache to each cupcake.  Sprinkle with coconut. Enjoy!

IMG_4772

Hope you have a delicious day and week ya’ll!

 

yesenia

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

