Simple Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

Good morning people!

Hope your Monday flew by.  I feel as if this week is going to fly by, so I’ve been planning out everything I need to do the next couple of weeks.

Yesterday was quite interesting.  I was home all day and was able to finish my school work for the week which was awesome.  Only a short lunch break, and I tried to get focused to get it all done.  I’m one of those people who don’t like to extend projects over a course of the week.  Rather spend a whole day baking 5 batches of cookies then make it over 2 days.

IMG_4145

Leftover lentils, kale and avocado salad, and sprouted english muffin.

Afterwards, I went to work, and when I got there I was amazed.  My managers had started to put up Christmas decorations in the breakroom.  They had promised to let me help even though I was closing, so they left me little projects to do once I got there.

IMG_4147

Pretty cute, huh?  It’s only half of it, but I thought it was cute.  I basically got paid to put up Christmas decorations for half my shift.  Holler.  Sometimes I realize I don’t give my managers enough credit.  They do try and make this a fun welcoming environment for their employees, and even though we don’t see eye-to-eye on how to run the store, in the end they are always down to talk and here what you have to say.

IMG_4151

Simple Dinner

Now on Fridays post, I know I promised you something sweet.  I didn’t forget, but rather chose to talk about something else.  So here are some healthy mid-week cookies.  I made them as part of my cookie challenge.  Here’s to get you through the week with something sweet, until the weekend comes to splurge 😉

IMG_4095

Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

adapted from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

  • 1/2 cup almond milk 
  • 2 tbs ground flax seeds
  • 2/3 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350.  First, vigorously mix almond milk and flax seeds in a larg bowl (very important since that acts as a binder.)  Then add in sugar and oil and mix until a caramel.  Mix in the vanilla.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, spices, and salt.  Combine the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until blended.  Fold in the oatmeal and raisins.

Roll into 1 inch balls and spread them out on the baking sheet.  Slightly press down on them before placing in the oven.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Once finished, brush a little layer of maple syrup for a shiny and sweet finish.  Enjoy!

Yields about 20 cookies

 

Today I’m keeping busy with yoga, applications, and maybe some cooking.  With breakfast in my stomach I’m ready to begin

IMG_4156

 

Enjoy the day people!

 

yesenia

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

