Lentils with Butternut Squash

Hello everyone!

It’s Friday night, and as much as I hope you get to read this post, I think you should be out enjoying your night.  Me?  I had a long day and quite the busy one at that.

IMG_4116

Breakfast on the go.  I actually over slept in the morning, so I just through this in the bag in hopes that it would do.  Well it did… for 2 hours.  I was starving by lunch so I had leftovers

IMG_4117

Now this doesn’t seem that great, but let me tell you I thought it was pretty damn good.  We’ll get back to that later.

For tonight there was a little bit of yoga involved and a lot of takeout.

IMG_4120

Thai food!  Yum!  It was exactly what I was craving.  I was thinking about a little wine but I was starving, on an empty stomach, and still trying to hydrate from yoga.  OJ seemed to fit the bill.

 

Still this dish is somewhat more flavorful and wholesome.  It’s basically Indian food made easy and healthy.  Hollaaa! Yesterday, I needed a break from school work and I new I wanted something big and hearty for lunch.  Just a couple blog searches later I came across something that fit the bill perfectly.

 

IMG_4092

Lentils with Butternut Squash

adapted from Choosing Raw

  • 1 medium squash cubed
  • 1/2 large yellow onion
  • 2 cups lentils
  • 4 tbs coconut oil
  • 3 tbs curry powder
  • 8 cups of water
  • salt and peppa

Over medium heat, melt coconut oil in a large pot.   When onions seem transparent/golden, add in squash, lentils, curry powder, salt, and peppa.  Stir until well combined.  Add water and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and slightly covered for about 45 minutes   For the last 15 min leave uncovered if water has not evaporated.

Serve over brown rice, maybe even a little kale and avocado salad.  Enjoy!

 

Hope you have a beautiful weekend!

 

yesenia

 

P.S.  Stay tuned if you need to satisfy your holiday sweet tooth!

 

 

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

