Sharing the Vegan Experience…. and Not Be Pushy.

Good Morning Lovaas!

I’m really excited for this post!!!  I know the title is a little lengthy, but it gets to the point.  It’s something I didn’t even think to write about till this morning, thanks to some inspiration!

Let’s just start with yesterdays fine eats!

Breakfast

sprouted cinnoman raisin toast, pb and banana

Repeat of the last few days.  I know, very exciting.  But with work so early in the mornings, not worth the work of oatmeal.

Lunch

Massaged kale salad, roasted brussel sprouts, toasted chickpeas, and avocado. Balsamic drizzle

Salad! I was so happy about this lunch!  I haven’t had a salad in fo eva, and the fall twist was delicious.

Dinner

I was fortunate enough to have dinner with a friend.  This was one of my inspirations for this post.  Check it out!!

We made my Single Girls Pasta x3.  With a little balsamic roasted butternut squash.  Twas delicious!  For dessert, that would be spiced pumpkin blondies.  We got the recipe from my new favorite sweets book.  We followed the recipe to a tee, so I don’t think it’s necessary to post it, especially I have plans to put my own twists on it 😛

 

Sharing the Vegan Experience

First starting to dive into a plant based diet can be difficult on its own.  We learn what to start eating, probably start cooking more, and figure out how to deal in social events.  Then the time comes to start sharing what your diet/lifestyle is all about.  For everyone, it is different.  Depending on your confidence and the people you surround yourself with, it could be a hit or miss.  Hopefully, these tips can help you feel better about showing, rather than talking, about your lifestyle.

1.  Give them a little taste of what you got!  And I’m still talking about food here…  Tis’ the season of holiday parties, cookies, and yummy food.  Show people how yummy vegan food is!  Bring a dish to the party, and don’t even mention it’s vegan.  For me, I always say I’ll bring a side dish.  When you mention vegan, it can start mixed apprehensions and questions.  Even at times I love to bring cookies to work.  I never say they are vegan.  Simply chocolate chip.  They are more inclined to try your dish if you just say what it is.  No labeling!

2.  Start sharing the benefits of cooking together.  Not only will it be cheaper, healthier, and quicker, you can show them how simple ingredients may make a spectacular dish.  Making something you can share is fun!

3.  Go grocery shopping!  People are sometimes very interested on what I possibly eat.  What do I use.  Isn’t it expensive   This can show them how easy and fun a vegan diet could be.  Even if it’s a quick stop, a quick stop at whole foods never hurt anyone, maybe just my wallet 😉

4.  Talking is good!  When asked about your diet, whether it is why or how, say it like it’s nothing.  Don’t be embarrassed or stall.  Simple answers are best and if they want to hear more, they will ask.  Don’t force a deep conversation if  it’s not wanted. Also try not to scare them away by saying anything crazy or degrading about them.

5.  Surround yourself with good people.  If they are willing to listen, share, and try, then the hard part is over.  With any diet, people may question and give you crazy looks, don’t worry about it.  Family and friends who like you for who you are, won’t care about what you eat.  Nobody is superior and no diet is “better.”  Embrace how everyone is different and we can learn a little something from everyone and every taste.

Carnivores, herbivores, health nuts, and foodists alike, #eatyourmothafuxkinheart out!

 

yesenia

 

 

PS.  My other inspiration

Pops made fakin’ bacon!!! hahahahahaha

 

Leave a Reply

