Oatmeal Chocolate Fudge Cookies

Good Morning everyone!

Hope you all had a great weekend.  I spent mine with the family.  I was off and decided to just lay low.  The weekend really few by and with some ups and downs, it definitely made me want to get going this week.  Can I just tell you…

I Love Indian Food!

x2… #phuckyodiet

In case you’re wondering, when we get Indian, I usually stick to the vegetarian of course, and I ALWAYS specify no cream or butter.  It works out though because sometimes it’s coconut milk or oil, and that just fine with me.  I had a cauliflower and potato dish, chickpeas in creamy spinach, roti, pakoras, and samosas.  So good!  Did  you guys know I made it part of my plan to visit India?  Sup veggies, yoga, meditation, and ayurvedic doctors.  Hollaaaa for my malaaaa!

 

TIME FOR COOKIES!

I really love to bake.  When I started baking, I started with recipes, and then trying to bake healthier bars and cakes.  I took a brief break.  Time, money, and life  took a toll.  Anyways, I’m back in time for the holidays, and I plan to do my second holiday vegan spread.  I’d been wanting to bake from my new book, to make sure my first batch was a hit.

 

Chocolate Fudgy Oameal Cookies

adapted from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

  • 2 cups + 2 tbs quick oats
  • 1 2/3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2/3 cup hershey’s dark cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder (ran out of baking soda!!!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 tbs ground flax seeds
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 3/4 chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350.  Stir together oats, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt in one bowl.  In a larger bowl beat sugar, flax, and milk.  Add in  the oil, vanilla, and almond extract, and beat again.  Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, just until combined.  Then add the chocolate chips.

I used a 3 baking sheets with greased foil on top.  Using a cookie scooper drop cookies a little more than an inch apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Let cool, but not until you taste one right out of the oven!

Makes about 30 cookies

With milk or cafe misto will do 🙂

 

Hope you stick around for more holiday cookies.  I just got done baking some chocolate pumpkin bread, but it definitely needs work.  One day, I wouldn’t mind having a little bakery.  Vegan goodies, local ingredients, fresh outta the oven treats.   Can’t wait to start working with bread!

Inspiration from a small town bakery

*le sigh*

Back to real life…. Pumpkin Oatmeal…

 

Peace out,

 

yesenia

One comment

Leave a Reply

