Morning Routines… and Spanish Black Beans

Good morning lovelies!

How are you all??  I am so ready to start the day.  After yesterday, I am definitely on a roll with a busy girl mind.

Lunch

After cleaning out my closet yesterday, I had worked up a humongous appetite.  I had put a couple of sweet potatoes in the oven to bake.  Sauteed a bit of kale and onion.  I was definitely in the mood for greens.  Before this year, I never really cooked kale because I always ate it raw on my salads.  So glad I change that!  I also made some really good black beans.  Prob the best I made in a while.

Spanish Style Black Beans

  • 2 cans of blacks beans
  • 2 tbs sofrito*
  • 2 tbs tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp tumeric
  • salt

Heat about 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat in a sauce pan.  Add in the sofrito and stir.  Once it start to heat up, combine the tomato paste and spices and stir frequently as to not let it burn. If needed lower heat.  Pour in the black beans, water included!  Keep mixing to make sure the flavors on the bottom of the pan combine with the beans nicely.  Raise heat to bring beans to a simmer.  A few pinches of salt to taste (if you are trying to cut sodium, omit since usually canned beans contain salt).  Once simmering, you may cover the beans, but lower heat so it does not start to boil.  You want the sauce to thicken a bit.  Keep checking and stirring till desired consistency.

*sofrito, or especia, is a spanish paste used to flavor many dishes in the hispanic culture.  From beans, meats, and even rice.  It brings great traditional flavor to the dishes.  You may make it yourself (or borrow your grandmas like me) or buy it at any supermarket, probably in the international section.  It basically consists of cilantro/culantro, green pepper, onion, garlic, and oil, all blended together.

Finish with some hot sauce and nutritional yeast….

#phuckyopresentation

After my lunch/dinner, schoolwork consumed my life (dramatic).  But I actually learned something really interesting.

Sprouted toast, sunflower seed butter, and cacao nibs. Chai tea, please?

 

Morning Routines

A speaker, Julia Cameron, spoke about a creative outlet that can benefit everyone.  It’s called Morning Pages.  Basically, you just get yo ass up early and write!  She advises that you get up an hour earlier, just you can write about whatever is on your mind, whether good or bad, funny or serious.  But do you really want to wake up any earlier just to write about nonsense.

I do!  I have a morning routine.  It basically doesn’t change much, but it’s the one thing in my life that I know I can do everyday and will only benefit me for what lies ahead.

Every morning I wake up, and depending how tired I am, the snooze button is used.  I get up to boil my water, while doing my bathroom business.  I prepare my water with lemon and make my way to my bed.  I write in my journal.  It’s actually one given to me from my school and it covers everything from feelings, gratitude, goals, and activities plan.  It actually really does help me start my day with some kind of focus.  I read at least a chapter of whatever book I’m reading and then meditate for at least 2 minutes.  BAM! 1 hour over done!

I really think having this time for yourself is really important.  Starting your day in silence, waiting for the sun to come up, sipping on something warm, and getting your mind ready with positivity and gratitude is what matters most to me.  And because I barely read in the middle of the day, I know in the morning and night is when I can get my fix.  When I used to go to work, I would make my food in replace of all that, and then I realized how much I hated that.  Especially knowing I had to hustle and move for the next 8 hours, morning stillness was very much needed.  I think I want to try that morning pages though.  I can always just read before bed.  Leave something for my dreams.

Any morning routines work for you guys?  Maybe that aromatic cup of coffee?  An extra 15 minutes laying in your bed? Stretching?

After my morning routine, I get that morning hunger…

Pumpkin spice overnight oats,anyone?

 

Namaste peeps!

 

Yesenia 

One comment

Leave a Reply

