Single Girl Pasta

Good morning everyone!

So it’s almost the weekend and I couldn’t be happier.  I just have to make it at work today and tomorrow night and I am golden for the weekend.  Hollaaaa!

Yesterday, I thought was pretty productive.  Cleaned, read, ate, and stayed in sweats all day.  I didn’t even make it to yoga.  I figured I was going the next morning anyway, early, so I didn’t want to push myself so late at night.  The vinyasa class wasn’t until 7:30 and after in being in sweats all day, yoga pants wasn’t going to cut it.

After cleaning yesterday, I worked up a Big appetite for lunch.  Technically, it was pretty late, so I treated it as dinner.  I had already picked up the kitchen, so I wanted something quick, easy, and clean.  I had an open box of pasta in the cupboard, opened jar of sauce in the fridge, and mushrooms that were begging to be used (they looked on the brink of death).  Sweet!

Pasta with Mushrooms and Red Sauce

  • about 1 cup of quinoa pasta (i may have used more 🙂
  • about 1 cup of jarred marinara sauce
  • olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 cups chopped mushrooms
  • 2 tbs nutritional yeast

Boil pasta as directed.  Once pasta is cooked drain, but save some of the liquid!  Set to the side.

Over medium heat, put in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Let heat up for a minute, until you add the garlic.  Sautee garlic in the pan, lowering heat if necessary to ensure it does not burn.  Once it looks golden, add in the mushrooms.  Stir the ingredients, set stove on medium heat, and cover the pan to keep in moisture and let the mushrooms cook.

Love mushrooms!

Add in the tomato sauce and let simmer to reduce it to your desired consistency.  Add in pasta and some of the liquid from the pasta.  The starch of the pasta water, can help make for a thicker sauce.  Mix in the nutritional yeast which will help give it that slightly creamy, cheesy taste.  Pasta is ready!

Gorgeous, no?

This made quiet a bit, so I ended up only having prob 2/3 of it.  I steamed some kale on the side to up the volume and nutrition a bit.  A touch of salt and you are good to go! It made for pretty colors too 🙂

Pretty Pasta!

I hope you enjoy this if you try it!  Between the quinoa pasta and mushrooms it made the right balance of carbs and protein.  Added veggies always help with portion control and added nutrients too!

Since I ate a big earlier, I had a couple of snacks to last me till bedtime.

Sprouted toast with sunflower seed butter and pear. Excuse the lighting lol

Little bit of leftovers.

I ended the night being able to watch Hocus Pocus finally!  A week till Halloween, so I had to start it off right!  Then some homework of course.

Favorite Halloween movie

Today

Homework, Homework, Homework!  I fueled my morning with a great 6am vinyasa flow and oatmeal, so hopefully I can keep going till 11pm tonight!

 

Have a great day peoples!

Yesenia

2 comments

Leave a Reply

