A Conclusion Has Been Made

Hello beautiful people!!  I hope everyone’s week was semi-decent.  If you’re breathing and reading this right now, you should be smiling 🙂

This Friday was just a regular ol’ weekday.  I worked, read, got my yoga on, and now I get to write and share about it.  Seriously, take out the “work” and put in “baked cookies”, and that might be one of my perfect days.  What can I say, I’m simple like that, or weird, whichever works.

 

Breakfast

I did get to start my day with a delicious meal!  Over the summer I get obsessed with overnight oats.  Basically it’s oatmeal soaked in milk overnight, which results in a delicious taste and texture.  Since it’s fall, I thought I would try a pumpkin version.  I’ve seen it before, but I always thought “Why?”  Isn’t the point of overnight oats to be eaten cold with summer fruits?  To have a raw, nutritious, summer breakfast?  Not At All!!  You still have you all the nutrition and fiber from your raw oats, healthy omega 3 fats with the chia seeds, healthy saturated fats from the coconut milk (you’ll see it’s high in fat, but it’s nothing like the fat and cholesterol in regular milk), and of course your serving of veggies!

 

 

Pumpkin Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup coconut milk (any milk you prefer)
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger (just a pinch of each)
  • optional – nut butter and maple syrup

In a bowl combine the oatmeal, chia seeds, and spices.  Then add in the milk and pumpkin and stir.  When everything has seem to meld, put in the fridge overnight or at least one hour.  In the morning, stir and add in what ever else you like.  Nut butter and some maple syrup.

This was so good!  I couldn’t help but stare and examine my oatmeal as after each spoonful.  Kind of dramatic, but hey, it’s everything I love in one.  I was lucky enough to have an almost empty jar of Nuttzo in the fridge, so I combined everything in there the night before for an easy portable breakfast.  I tasted it before I added the maple syrup, and to be honest, it didn’t even need it.  I think the natural sweetness of the coconut milk and pumpkin was enough.  But, this morning I was feeling rather indulgent so I added it anyway 🙂

 

The rest of the day was filled with a little of this:

Sprouted toast with white-bean hummus and massaged kale salad, topped with leftover roasted beets.

And a little of that:

Soy chai tea latte. Craving satisfied.

 

Yoga update:

The new studio is growing on me.  I actually have been able to take a couple of their vinyasa classes and they are pretty good.  It’s amazing how their teachers vary in styles.  They have been substitutes so maybe that is why.  That is what I love about vinyasa though.  How you don’t know what you’re going to get.  What kind of flow or posture is always different.  We actually practiced a new pose today that I have never done and it was awesome.  I felt like a little kid on a play ground.  Anyway, I’m still waiting for Bikram to grow on me.  I need to give it a few more chances.

 

Dinner

Every time I do yoga in the evenings, I usually have something fast and light to eat.  Usually, that means canned or leftover meals.

Amy’s organic chili (low sodium) topped with tomato and avocado salad.

I usually have orange juice after yoga.  Since I sweat so much in yoga, I definitely need something with sugar.  Coconut water would be a yogis Gatorade.  It has natural sugars and more electrolytes than the commercialized Gatorade.  But, since I’m too cheap for coconut water, orange juice will have to do.

I’ll probably end the night with some ginger tea.  I’ve been lovin’ that night-time thang.

 

My Conclusion

I want to start blogging everyday.  About food.  This is going to be my goal.  This is supposed to help me succeed in my intention.  For now.

When I first started blogging I read healthy lifestyle blogs.  They blogged about what they ate, the exercises they did, and healthy tips that worked for them.  For many reasons I admired what they were doing.  As years went by I discovered solely food blogs, recipes, blogs about raw foods, veganism, yoga, and so much more.  Somehow, I am trying to combine what I learned and loved to make this blog my own.

For now I’m focusing on food.  What I eat.  It’s something I get asked about all the time.  Curiosity or skepticism could be the motive, but either way, I love talking about food.  Throw in a little bit of yoga, thoughts, and randomness just for some fun, and welcome to my life 🙂

Until next-time…  Namaste Peeps!

Yesenia

3 comments

Leave a Reply

