Quinoa All Day, Everyday

Or just for this fine Tuesday!!

Hope everyone’s day has gone swell, or just gone!  Today for me, it was just one of those days that just had to end.  A long, not so busy, day at work made it that much more enticing to go home.

Breakfast

Was definitely not something I have everyday.  I decided 20 minutes before I had to leave to work that I would make a batch of quinoa to eat for a couple of days.  I love cooking quinoa in bulk.  I think it keeps better in the fridge than rice or oatmeal.

Quinoa Parfait

Quinoa, banana, cinnamon, almond butter, and a few splashes of coconut milk.

This quinoa parfait is definitely something I would have in the summer.  It’s light and easy.  When I think about it, use some pumpkin and other spices for a more seasonal breakfast, maybe even heated for some comfort.  Add some chia seeds for some crunch, fiber, and healthy omega 3 fats!  Breakfast is my favorite meal to experiment with.  I will try something and if I like it I will stick to it for months.  But sometimes, like today, anything goes when you’re on the go too.

Lunch

Carrot stems, tomatoes, avocado, carrots, and quinoa.

Again, last minute throw before work.  I didn’t have any lettuce on hand, but after a little research I learned that you can eat the stems/leaves of the carrots.  Sauteed, garnish, or drizzled with olive oil and salt like I did.  Apparently, they are high in vitamins and minerals, particularly potassium, which is why it’s bitter.  I actually really enjoyed it.  It was almost like arugula.  I really need to start experimenting with greens.  Kale can take a back seat 1 week out of the month!

But the star of lunch was…

Green Chia Kombucha!

I’ve been LOVING my weekly consumption of Kombucha.  I haven’t been doing it that consistently to reveal any “benefits” but after reading about them (probiotics, improved digestion, and liver detoxification to name a few) I really want to make sure I have this in my life.  The chia seeds are just my own special preference 😉

 

Dinner

It’s not that work was busy, hard, or overwhelming in any way today, but I was so lazy when I got home.  Maybe from the lack of energy throughout the day?  I don’t really know, but I was not in the mood to cook anything elaborate for dinner. I really hope that at some point this week I will get to meditate while chopping my veggies, but not tonight.

Quinoa pasta, homemade “marinara” sauce, broccoli and nutritional yeast.

Basically I just put some onions, garlic, and broccoli to saute.  Then added some crushed tomatoes, salt, and basil, and let simmer.  While that party was going on, the quinoa pasta was boiling.  Don’t you love the simplicity and comfortness (maybe not a word) of pasta?

Lately I’ve been all about foodie finds.

It’s just about whole wheat anymore!

Who said pasta isn’t healthy?

If you’re a health nut, wholefoods devotee, or quinoa obsessed, you might know about this heavenly product.  It’s 10 times better than whole wheat.  Even my dad says it tastes basically like white pasta!  Trust me, that’s a big deal.

Now if you’re vegan you might be more acquainted with this:

Pass the parm please!

Since I have been eating a primarily plant-based diet for about 4 months now, I thought it was time to break out the real vegan goodies.  Nutritional yeast is like a supplement, resembles fish food, and has a salty distinct taste.  This makes it a great substitute for cheezy dishes!  Anyway, I decided I needed vitamin B12 in my life, so this is what I turn to.  B12 is also found in animal protein and dirt.  So if you have a garden and don’t go crazy about washing your produce, BAM, vitamin B12 is now organically circulating your body.

 

So I hope you enjoyed my eats for the day!  This is like a what-I-ate post, but I like the way I did mix it up in my own way.  Not for nothing, but knowing that I might be posting my food gets me a little more motivated to try something new 🙂  I love being able to show people different foods, healthy meals, and healthy indulgences.  Next-time I can try and make this a chocolate theme 😀

 

Good night peeps!!

 

Yesenia

2 comments

Leave a Reply

