My 5 Day “Detox”

Good morning people!!

It’s the weekend, thank god, and I hope most of you guys have something exciting planned! If you are working, I feel you, even though I am off this weekend! When you work retail, weekends off are pretty much a blessing lol

So the past few days (almost a week!) since I wrote my first post, I have been sporadic, or just inconsistent. My intent for this blog was to try and post everyday. To share with you everyday life of this young lay-day. Well I’ve been trying to disconnect from life, just in small ways though. There was no tv, no instagramming every meal, and I even took an extra day off from work. This was part of my Detox!!

First Meal

As most people know, I am a pretty health conscious mamasita. For the most part, I eat right, exercise, and remind myself of gratitude every chance I get. But sometimes, I believe your body needs something more. Fall has come, and though here in Jersey we have been having some summer days, our body and minds need prep for the winter months to come. This is a season of change! As a practitioner of movement with breath (vinyasa), I also believe in eating with the season. This means eating local in-season foods, warm foods, heavier foods, extra fats, maybe just even more food for fall/winter. For example, in the winter, what sounds more appetizing: a light salad of tomatoes, cucumbers, and hummus (my preferred salad 😉 or bowl of pumpkin spice soup? Well, with all this delicious hearty squashes, wholesome grains, and more cooking with healthy oils, our body needs to prepare. To start to digest these heavier foods, without wreaking havoc, such as gaining weight or feeling tired from a food coma (or my previous issue – a sugar coma), we need to let our gut ignite, and yell “Hey I’m ready for the good stuff, bring it on!”

Lately, I have been feeling the Ayurveda Diet. Not a your typical “I want to lose weight now” diet. More like a lifestyle. It is said that people who do yoga, sometimes fall into a diet like this. It is about balance, and catering to your specific needs. We are all different, and should understand what works for one, may not work for the other. I wont get into what else this diet entails now, but I hope to soon!! Once I become more knowledgeable and experience it more for myself,  will I share. But be sure I will be including some awesome websites!!

I bet you didn’t know Campbell made an awesome organic vegetable broth. Whatup.

So, back to the Detox. I loosely followed an Ayurvedic detox plan. I first saw this on yoga journal. It seemed pretty easy. First you were supposed to drink of tea full of spices. I nixed that out, since I couldn’t find any of the spices in bulk when I went to Whole Foods the previous day. Instead, I drank ginger tea and vegetable broth. Organic kale, carrots, celery, and sweet potato peels went into that pot Monday morning. During this detox I found out I am addicted to caffeine. *Sigh* My cup of green tea is just another individual’s cup of mornin’ joe. I never felt so horrible!!! The first day I had a headache, I was tired, and ended up going to bed at 8pm! Whoa there! So I drank my tea 3 out of the 5 days… dis b* gotta function!

Next the food. Oh, the food. For 3 out of the 5 day I had a dish called Kitchari. This contained basmati rice, mung beans, spices, and coconut oil. I didn’t do the chutney as offered because i couldn’t find organic coriander (had I not been in a rush, I prob would have gotten an alternative.) This is supposed to be a complete meal, with starches, protien, fats, and whatever veggies you would have liked on the side. It was filling! One thing I hate is being hungry. I feel there is no need to starve yourself. This is another reason why I knew this cleanse was for me. I love food. I tried to avoid snacking as it says you should, just stick to 3 meals and have the broth in between meals, but my job requires me to eat at crazy times, and at their time, so sometimes an apple happened.

Kitchari with avocado. Loved this for lunch.

My version of Breakfast Kitchari. Add in some warm diced apples and honey

My favorite dinner. Boiled sweet potato and steamed kale. Avocado seals the deal!

Now how I felt…

The Cons.
If I wasn’t sleeping right, being in bed by 10pm and waking up at 5am, I felt off balance. You’re body requires sleep when restricting diet or lifestyle. If I worked and went to yoga, that would exhaust me. When I was hungry, I was very hungry. Not good. Also, not having a set schedule, can be exhausting. I would have to worry about packing breakfast and lunch sometimes, with my broth on the side. Or if I knew I wasn’t going to be able to eat I wouldn’t pack anything, because most of the stuff should be eaten warm. No microwave allowed. (Also only purified water.  Brita is my new best friend.)

The Pros:
Somedays I had so much energy. I would feel lighter, more alert during the day, and motivated. Usually at the end of the day, I always felt bloated, almost as if my food from the whole day was just chillin in my stomach. Not very comfortable or attractive. During this detox the only day I felt a little discomfort was on day 2 in the morning, and I it was probably from my body getting used to a new day of eating. I feel as if this diet definitely helped me in transitioning into a fall diet and state of mind. I had went from eating mostly raw summer meals, to hearty spiced cooked meals. And I still felt light. Not heavy or lethargic, which I sometimes fear. I also had more time for me, such as meditation, reading, or schoolwork. This is because I made the time.

So yea, this is in short was what my detox was like. It means commitment, preparation, and self-healing for real. I may not have enjoyed the veggie broth 3 times a day, but like most things in life, sometimes what’s good for you doesn’t always feel like it at first. You learn to smile, be grateful, and move on. And that’s what I did. I know this detox wasn’t going to last forever, and while I was dreaming about my oatmeal once again, I quickly thought about why I did this. Maybe one day I will try a full detox. For now, I’m proud I got this far.

Now this was one hell of a post, but if you stuck around, congrats! You would probably be awesome at meditating lol

Peace out!!

Yesenia

P.S. It’s a detox right? Did I lose weight? I don’t know. I don’t weigh myself. I do put on pants though and noticed maybe they were a little loser. But after a weekend of what hopefully contains some padthai and icecream, I will smile and say hello to my booty hugging pants once again 🙂

http://www.yogajournal.com/detox/

http://lifespa.com/

http://www.vixi.com/content/ayurvedic-fall-cleanse

Banana-whipped oatmeal

1 small banana

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 cup water (or almond milk)

1 tbs ground flaxseed

cinnamon

almond butter

Add banana to a pot over medium heat.  Use a little bit of water to prevent banana from sticking to the pot.  After a couple of minutes, combine the oats and water in the pot.   Close the pot and let cook for about 2/3 minutes.  Once the oatmeal starts to bubble, add the flax and a few dashes of cinnamon.  Stir, stir, stir.  Once a thick consistency is achieved, turn off the heat and place in a bowl.  Add about a spoonful of almond butta and enjoy!!  Other yummy add-ins may include, raisins, raw local honey, or seasalt!

My favorite breakfast

11 comments

Leave a Reply

