Oil Pulling: An All Natural Mouthwash

As I read more holistic health articles, I see more and more information on oil pulling.  I find this amazing.  All though I only started this in the fall of last year, I can’t imagine not doing this every morning.

NF-July30-Is-Coconut-Oil-Good-For-You-460x200

So what is oil pulling?

Oil pulling is an detox method that stems from Ayurveda.  By using oil as a mouth wash, you are ridding the toxins within your mouth and body everyday.  The oil acts to absorb any toxins inside your mouth, to even extracting toxins from inside your gut.

From extracting the toxins from your mouth, not only are you truly cleaning out your mouth, there are other benefits involved:

  • Strengthened gums and teeth
  • Sleek shine and feel on teeth
  • Whiter teeth
  • No bad breath
  • Better digestion
  • Healthier immune system

How to do it.

You can use either sesame or coconut oil.  I prefer coconut oil for a more mild taste and feel afterwards.  With about a 1/2 tbs of oil, you swish all through your mouth and in-between your teeth.  You do this for about 10-20 minutes.  Try your hardest to keep moving the oil around, it’s great exercise for your jaw as well.  DO NOT SWALLOW!  You want make sure all the toxins stick to the oil and not be digested.  Once you are done, spit in the toilet (you do not want clog your sink), and rinse with a little salt water.  I find this best to do this in the morning before I brush my teeth.

I believe your hygiene definitely affects your immune and digestion.  I feel the strength in my gums and teeth and have amazing cleaner feel in mouth every morning, that lasts throughout the whole day.  I think I drink too much tea and coffee to see some pearly whites.  I’ll take the health benefits anyway.

Have you ever tried oil pulling before?  I have to admit, I was skeptical for a long time.  I think if your curious, it’s worth to give it a try.  I’ve even heard how it may lead to softer glowing skin!

Sources:  John Douilliard, Life Spa

One comment

Leave a Reply

