Beet Persimmon Avocado Salad

Yes, this would be a recipe of a salad.

IMG_3296

But, it is like the best salad.  I always used to think recipes for salads were almost silly.  Like really, it’s just lettuce, veggies, and if you’re into that kind of stuff, fruit even (apparently, I am now).  Yet, these are almost like ideas.  I know I am constantly asked, “What do you put in your salads?”  Since, once people know you are vegan/vegetarian/”healthy-eater”, you must be eating salads everyday.

Alas, I beg to differ.  I actually haven’t made my salad in what seems like a month or more.  When it’s cold, the last thing I want is a crunchy, raw, cold salad.  Buuuut, recently the temperature has been pretty warm.  So in 60 degree weather, I deemed it necessary to roast some veggies, and have a salad.  I almost confused myself.

I’ve done a Fall inspired salad before, this one just happens to have other Fall beauties.  Kale, roasted beets, persimmons, and avocado, with some other yummies, are pretty much a match mad in heaven.  And the colors, are just insane.  I love me a rainbow, but the deep shades that everyone loves about the fall are even part of our food source of the season.  Besides the roasting part, this salad is a quick fix for lunch or dinner.  AKA my lunch and dinner.

IMG_3300Beet Persimmon Avocado Salad

Ingredients

  • Kale (I prefer purple/loose kale over curly)
  • 3 small roasted beets, quartered
  • 1/2 persimmon, cubed
  • 1/2 California avocado
  • ~1 cup prepared quinoa (your own preference
  • 2 heaping tbs hummus
  • dressing of choice (I used Braggs ginger dressing)

Tear kale in bite sized pieces to fill a decent plate/bowl.  Add rest of the ingredients.   Enjoy :)

PS.  I didn’t know I was actually going to do a post of this… so I didn’t take a lot of pictures.  Whamp whamp.

One comment

Leave a Reply

